Art Meets Industry

Prisoner

Unchain me

Like a fish attracted to a lure, an artist must pursue shiny new audiences for their art career to be successful. Having few bites fishing with nature photos, I changed bait. I took photos at the recently sold Oregon City Blue Heron Paper Mill. Several turned out well so I framed and matted them in various sizes and price ranges. Lo and behold, I sold three of them-a matted print, and two framed and matted photographs. In addition, I was awarded a Clackamas County Art grant to write an illustrated history of the mill and its workers. I start that project this Friday, October 3 when I join 20 other artists for a tour of the mill and a chance to gather more information on mill workers, history, and working conditions. I invite you to visit me at the Hopkins Demonstration Forest in Oregon City, Oregon on Saturday and Sunday, October 4 and 5 from 10-5. I will be there with 20 other artists selling my forest and paper mill pictures. There will be music, food vendors, five miles of hiking trails, and hands-on art activities for the children. I was at the event last year as a volunteer and enjoyed the creativity and people so much I came back this year as an artist. Weather forecasts call for sunny and warm temperatures for the weekend. Please join the fun.

Leave a Reply

